ACOG's Immunization Champions

ACOG is proud to acknowledge the below Ob-Gyn Immunization Champions. These Immunization Champions are considered leaders in maternal and adult immunization. They have demonstrated exceptional progress in increasing immunization rates among adults and pregnant women in their communities through leadership, innovation, collaboration, and educational activities. 

Immunization and Emerging Infections Expert Work Group 

In 2010, the College convened an Immunization Expert Work Group to further enhance the role of ob-gyns as vaccinators of adolescent and adult women. In 2017, the work group changed its name to the Immunization and Emerging Infections Expert Work Group, as they expanded their role beyond immunizations to address infectious diseases such as Anthrax, Ebola, and Zika virus. 

Laura Riley, MD (Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA)

Kevin Ault, MD (University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS)

Richard Beigi, MD (Magee-Womens Hospital of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA)

Linda O'Neal Eckert, MD (University of Washington, Seattle, WA)

Barbara Fisher, MD, PhD (Providence Health & Services, Providence, OR)

Brenna Hughes, MD (Duke Perinatal, Durham, NC)

Denise Jamieson, MD, CAP, MC USPH (Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA)

Howard Minkoff, MD (Maimonides Medical Center, Brooklyn, NY)

Flor Munoz, MD (Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX)

Lois Ramondetta, MD (MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX)

Neil Silverman, MD (Center for Fetal Medicine and Women's Ultrasound, Los Angeles, CA)

Rhoda Sperling, MD (Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY)

Geeta Swamy, MD (Duke University, Durham, NC)

J. Martin Tucker, MD (Jackson Healthcare for Women, Flowood, MS)

Jennie Yoost, MD, MSc (Marshall Obstetrics & Gynecology, Huntington, WV)

Titilope Oduyebo, MD (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, GA)


Increasing Immunization Rates through Obstetrician-Gynecologist Partnerships Champions

The Increasing Immunization Rates through Obstetrician-Gynecologist Partnerships project is a four-year, CDC-funded cooperative agreement aimed at reducing barriers and improving adult immunizations in pregnant and non-pregnant populations. In 2015, this project identified the below immunization champions to help ACOG create and improve resources that will benefit other ob-gyns as they improve their immunization programs and establish a culture of immunization.

Laila Al-Marayati, MD (Eisner Pediatric & Family Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA)

Carol Archie, MD (Linda Cowan, MD and Associates, Los Angeles, CA)

Richard Bardowell, MD (Richard Bardowell, MD, Burbank, CA)

Karla Iacampo, MD (Karla Iacampo, MD, Inc., Santa Monica, CA)

Samuel Kassar, MD (Woodglen Ob-Gyn Medical Group, Glendora, CA)

Deirdre Logan, MD (Watts Healthcare Corporation, Los Angeles, CA)

Ranoo Sabnis, MD (UCLA Westlake OB/GYN, Westlake Village, CA)

Laura Sirott, MD (Laura Sirott, MD, Pasadena, CA)

Ayanna Walden, MD (Ayanna Walden, MD, Beverly Hills, CA)

Jacqueline Trejo, MD (Santa Monica Gyn-ob, Santa Monica, CA)

Laura Bookman, MD (Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA)

Khady Diouf, MD (Brigham and Women's Outpatient Obstetrics Practice, Boston, MA)

Huma Farid, MD (Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital-Milton Ob/GYN, Milton, MA)

Jennifer Kickham, MD (Massachusetts General Hospital Ob/Gyn, Boston, MA)

Evelyn Marsh, MD (New England OB-GYN Associates, Chestnut Hill, MA)

Katherine Marshall, MD (Brookline Women's Health, Allston, MA)

Aaron Mendel, MD (Central Massachusetts OB/GYN Associates, Shrewsbury, MA)

Julie Miner, MD (Brigham Faulkner Ob/Gyn Associates, Jamaica Plain, MA)

Marcus Ortega Alves, MD (University of Massachusetts Medical Center, Worchester, MA)






Updated 12/8/17

This website is supported by an independent educational grant from Merck and an educational grant from Sanofi Pasteur U.S. 
ACOG does not allow companies to influence its programs, publications, or advocacy positions.